Skip to main content

ISO / Insurarance Rating Information 

The SVFD is an all-risk full-time career staffed fire department that provides all-risk fire, rescue, and emergency medical services to the communities of Agua Caliente, Boyes Hot Springs, Mayacamas, Diamond-A, El Verano, Fetters Hot Springs, Glen Ellen, Temelec, Seven Flags and the incorporated City of Sonoma.


ISO Ratings

City of Sonoma - Class 1

Unincorporated areas of the Sonoma Valley - Class 2/10*

Glen Ellen - Class 2/10*

Mayacamas - Class 8b/10*


* Rating is 10 when property location is greater than 5 miles from a fire station. 


Fire Station Addresses:

 Station 1 - 630 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476 (ISO rating 1)

Station 2- 877 Center St, Sonoma, CA 95476 (ISO rating 2)

Station 3 - 1 Agua Caliente Rd W, Sonoma, CA 95476 (ISO rating 2)

Station 4 - 18798 Prospect Dr, Sonoma, CA 95476 (ISO rating 2)

Station 5 - 13445 Arnold Dr, Glen Ellen, CA 95442 (ISO rating 2)

Station 8 - 3252 Trinity Rd, Glen Ellen, CA 95442

Station 9 - 4601 Cavedale Rd, Glen Ellen, CA 95442

Station 10 - 36 Wilson St, Eldridge, CA 95431 (ISO rating 2)


SVFD Fire Apparatus

Type 1 fire engines - 8 - average gallons of water 800 each - 1250-1500  gpm 

Ladder Truck - 1 - 500 gallons water - 1500 gpm

Type 2 /3 fire engines - 5 - average gallons 750 gallons each 

Type 5 fire engines - 2 - average gallons 300 each 

Water Tenders - 3 - average 2000 gallons each 

Rescues - 2

Ambulances - 6

Utility / Command Vehicles - 12


Fire Suppression Rating Schedule (FSRS) Overview

The Fire Suppression Rating Schedule (FSRS) is a manual containing the criteria ISO uses in reviewing the fire prevention and fire suppression capabilities of individual communities or fire protection areas. The schedule measures the major elements of a community’s fire protection system and develops a numerical grading called a Public Protection Classification (PPC®).

Our FSRS employs nationally accepted standards developed by such organizations as the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), the American Water Works Association (AWWA), and the Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO) International. When those organizations update their standards, the ISO evaluation changes as well. The PPC program always provides a useful benchmark that helps fire departments and other public officials measure the effectiveness of their efforts — and plan improvements.

How the FSRS works

The FSRS lists a large number of items (facilities and practices) that a community should have to fight fires effectively. The schedule is performance based and assigns credit points for each item. Using the credit points and various formulas, ISO calculates a total score on a scale of 0 to 105.5.

To receive certain PPC ratings, a community must meet minimum criteria. After a community meets those criteria, the PPC rating depends on the community’s score on the point scale. For more information, see:

  • Minimum Facilities and Practices to Get a PPC Rating
  • Minimum Criteria for Class 9
  • Minimum Criteria for Class 8B
  • Minimum Criteria for Class 8 or Better
  • Scores and PPC Ratings

The FSRS considers three main areas of a community’s fire suppression system: emergency communications, fire department (including operational considerations), and water supply. In addition, it includes a Community Risk Reduction section that recognizes community efforts to reduce losses through fire prevention, public fire safety education, and fire investigation.